The Beautiful Ones: True Friends

I watched the patriotic red, white and blue posts stream by on my social media posts and felt a little ridiculous. Yes, Memorial Day weekend is supposed to be a time to honor our veterans, but the fact of the matter is, I’d fallen into the mindset that it’s simply a long weekend.  And long weekends are perfect for doing special things with your family or at least your significant other, neither of which I have.  To make matters worse, one of my friends called me and was going through a similar slump, so we had a slight pity party.

But thankfully, one of my closest friends seems to have a sixth sense about these sort of things and always subtly brings me into her fold on weekends that would be tough. Her and her husband welcomed their first daughter a couple months ago and her mom and sister came to town to spend the long weekend visiting.  She suggested I join them and move in for the weekend. Slow eye roll for the adult sleepover. But after spending Friday night Netflixing and chilling by myself and ultimately going to bed ridiculously early, I sent a text message early Saturday afternoon asking her what time she wanted me to come over lol

I had a nice time eating crabs and watching movies on Saturday and cooking out with them on Sunday. And if it’s any consolation, she’s a veteran, so I worked that aspect into my Memorial Day weekend too lol

Anyway, I sent her and her a husband a text message after I left their house to let them know how thankful I am for their friendship, but somehow that wasn’t enough. Beautiful people are so hard to come by in this world, so I wanted to share their kindness with the rest of the world.

I hope you all had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend as well.

Leave a Reply

