Today I Took a Leap of Faith and Joined A Virtual Writing Retreat

You know how sometimes some of the most influential people in your life are introduced through other people? Yeah, I’ve found that in my friend from elementary school’s wife.

A little over a year ago, we were discussing my job search and she asked what it is I do. That simple question led us to discovering our mutual love for writing.

Yesterday, she tagged me in a Facebook post she made about a site called Camp NaNoWriMo. In short, the site is based on the concept of NaNoWriMo, the month when writers set a goal to write a little bit every day in order to achieve goals they’ve set for themselves (i.e. writing a short story, finishing the first draft of a novel, etc.)

Anyway, this site not only offers a way for you to organize writing projects, but it’s a community for writers to come together and receive help and motivation from each other. In addition, the site also offers helpful resources in the form of published writers who come to offer advice.

My friend’s wife decided to join Camp NaNoWriMo’s virtual writing retreat designed to inspire writers to work on a project for the month of July. She tagged me in her Facebook post to see if I wanted to join. At first I didn’t respond because I’m scared lol I haven’t had an idea for anything to write, with the exception of these blog posts, in at least a year. How can I create a writing project when I don’t even have anything to write about?

But the thought of joining kept nagging at me. And this invitation came within hours of me researching an actual writing retreat and deciding I couldn’t afford to attend. So I figured the Camp NaNoWriMo virtual retreat may be something I’m intuitively being called to do.

As of today, I have 29 days to develop an idea. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

